Evaluation / Reflection (Unit 18)


Collaborating: Team work

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 09.31.34

As a group I believe that our group has been challenged quite a lot through this brief as we have faced a number of problems. I believe that as of now we are overcoming these issues to the best of our ability. To begin with our group had a number of good ideas and during our early meetings there was a lot discussed then causing confusion for some members of the group. This confusion then led to a lot of disagreements and frustrated group members. Izzy began to feel under stress acting as creative director therefore Matt took over this role as he felt he could handle the disagreements a lot better. As I wrote in a previous blog about the lack of communication this was brought up in one of our team meetings. To overcome this Matt has agreed to having at least two short meetings in one day (morning and afternoon). During these meetings Matt asks where we are all up to with our work and asks for any issues within the group to be discussed. He then assigns us tasks if we are unsure on what to do or we have nothing to do.


Plan & manage

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 09.54.31

To begin with our group struggled to come up with ideas, after a number of meetings and a number of different things being researched we then came up with a brief idea. This brief idea was to include a dolls house for insects, assigning them a different room representing IKEA furniture. This idea stayed the same for about a week or two until we began to test shoot images. After completing our first test shoot including ants we discovered that ants are quite tricky to capture and the same goes for the spider. We still have to test shoot the snail and then the three different insects all together. After the confusion on which insect was going where in the house, creative director at the time Izzy suggested we were to go home that night and do independent in depth research on each insect. From here our ideas developed further as I drew up a brief idea on what I believe would look effective. I believe that as a group we are massively improving on our planning and our managing and I believe fully that we are going to produce an overall effective piece.


Personal evaluation

Screen Shot 2015-09-30 at 10.03.30Screen Shot 2015-09-29 at 16.26.58

I believe that I have contributed to the team to the best of my ability, I have completed a lot of research and drawn brief ideas. As my Photoshop skills are not that good I printed all the images out sat and created a paper cut out version of my idea. When I created this idea at home I doubted the group wouldn’t like it or wouldn’t see my point, I was wrong as the group think it is really creative. So far I am really pleased with my progress within the group and I strongly understand that I have worked to the best of my ability and I have worked really hard to bring good ideas and relevant information to the group.


Leave a comment